Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: B. Bergstrom, E. J. Finck, K. S. Foresman, M. Hackett, J. Hallett, D. W. Kaufman, J. L. Koprowski, C. A. Long, J. Rachlow, S. R. Sheffield (Chair), A. T. Smith, T. E. Tomasi, J. Whorley, J. A. Yunger

Information Items:

- (1) The ASM Conservation Awards Committee received 8 nominations for the Aldo Leopold Award and 3 nominations for the William T. Hornaday Award After a thorough review process, a nomination for each award was made to the Board for 2004. Results of these deliberations will be made public at the Annual Banquet.
- (2) In early 2004, the American Ornithologists' Union (AOU) contacted the committee to discuss the idea of a new AOU Conservation Award. Much positive feedback and information was provided to the AOU and they decided to move forward on the award. In spring 2004, Dr. John Marzluff, Chair of the new AOU Conservation Awards Committee, contacted the committee and the chair supplied him with copies of the call for nominations for the ASM Conservation Awards, ideas for dissemination of their 1st call for nominations, a list of the nomination review procedures used by the committee, a discussion of problems encountered during the initial ASM review process, and some potential solutions to problems in the review process that the committee will attempt in the future. The chair received a very gracious E-mail in return thanking the ASM for all of its assistance with getting the new AOU Conservation Awards program off the ground.

Action Items: None

Respectfully submitted, Steve Sheffield, Chair (srsheffield@att.net)